Christie Stephenson recognized as part of Canadas Clean50 for contributions towards sustainability

Posted 2018-09-27

It was announced today that Christie Stephenson, the Executive Director of the Peter P. Dhillon Centre for Business Ethics at the UBC Sauder School of Business, has been recognized as part of Canada’s Clean50 for 2019.

The Canada’s Clean50 Honour is awarded every September to 50 individual leaders and small teams who have contributed the most to enhancing sustainability and clean capitalism in Canada over the prior two years. Winners are chosen from over 500 nominees spanning 16 distinct categories: Advocacy & ENGOs, Angels & Investors, Cities, Building, Clean Tech, Consultants, Education, Financial & Services, Manufacturing & Transportation, Primary Resources, Public Sector, R&D, Renewable and Traditional Energy Generation, Retail & Consumer, Technology & Telecom.

Christie will be representing the Dhillon Centre at the annual Clean50 Summit in Toronto on September 27, which brings together sustainability, policy and clean tech experts from disparate Canadian endeavors, seeking to enhance opportunities for these leaders find new and innovative ways to collaborate. These individuals collectively lead the fight against climate change and embrace a low carbon future, improve both corporate and environmental performance, and enhance Canada’s prosperity.

“We are excited and proud that Christie has been recognized as part of Canada’s Clean50,” said Katherine White, Academic Director for the Peter P. Dhillon Centre for Business Ethics. “It is a tribute to her countless hours of hard work, but also great recognition of the collective contributions towards social responsibility in business made by the Dhillon Centre and UBC Sauder.”

The Clean50 Awards were founded by Delta Management Group in June 2011. Delta Management Group, formed in 1992, is a boutique search firm with the leading practice in “green collar”/“green professionals” search in Canada, including clean tech, corporate social responsibility and sustainability professionals. Previous winners of the award have included Andrea Goertz, Chief Sustainability Officer with TELUS, David Labistour, CEO of Mountain Equipment Co-Op, and the Honourable Catherine McKenna, Minister of Environment and Climate Change.