Insights at UBC Sauder

UBC Sauder announces winners of Research and Teaching Awards for 2022/2023

UBC Sauder
Posted 2023-05-02

The UBC Sauder School of Business has recognized four faculty members for their outstanding achievements and efforts in teaching and research for the 2022/2023 academic year.

Killam Teaching Award for excellence in undergraduate teaching

T Gurton

Tracey Gurton is the recipient of the 2023 Killam Teaching Award in recognition of her excellence in undergraduate teaching during her 22 years at UBC Sauder. Her exemplary contributions include ongoing dedication to our undergraduate students, her generous committee work, and her role in co-designing a new course entitled Values, Ethics, & Community, which is dedicated to helping students discover who they are, and role of ethics and community in that process. “Tracey puts her heart and soul into her teaching and often maintains a connection with students after the course because of the lasting impression she leaves on them.”



The Arne Olsen Teaching Prize for part-time instructors

Conor Topley

Conor Topley is the recipient of the Arne Olsen Teaching Prize. Conor is known for his energy and enthusiasm and his deep passion for student experience, both within the classroom and beyond. In his seven years as a faculty member, Conor has made numerous contributions to the undergraduate program, most notably through his innovations to COMM 101 and COMM 202. He is an engaging instructor, presenting information in a way that resonates with students through story-telling, visual imagery, and interactive activities. Conor is also a community-builder, not only with students but also with other faculty, creating strong, positive connections that elevate both the educational and the social aspects of the school.


Talking Stick Award

The Talking Stick Award goes to Rebecca Paluch for her significant pedagogical contributions in the area of Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion (EDI). Becky developed undergraduate and graduate courses on numerous EDI topics including gender and diversity in leadership, leading equity, diversity and inclusion, and crisis management from an EDI perspective. She also crafted a live case experience to immerse undergraduate and graduate students in real-world EDI challenges in organizations. Becky’s contributions to EDI at Sauder extend beyond her own classes. She collaborated with instructors in the Values, Ethics and Community course to develop a class assignment on privilege, and has offered her expertise to the school through the EDI committee and through food-for-thought sessions with the faculty.

Research Excellence Award, Junior Category

(For candidates at most 10 years post-Ph.D.).

Yanwen Wang

Professor Yanwen Wang is the recipient of the Research Excellence Award, Junior Category. Yanwen received her PhD from Emory University in 2014 and joined Sauder in 2017. Yanwen is an empirical modeler, who investigates important societal issues such as anti-smoking campaigns, retirement saving behaviors, and effects of political advertising. She is a highly productive scholar, with 10 publications, eight of which appear in the very top journals in the field (Marketing Science; Journal of Marketing). She is regularly invited to present her work at top schools including Harvard, Wharton, Chicago, Cornell and Yale. Her outstanding research accomplishments have been recognized by several external awards including being named a Marketing Science Institute Young Scholar, an American Marketing Association Sheth Foundation Faculty Fellow, and the Canada Research Chair in Marketing Analytics.

“Please join me in congratulating these outstanding faculty members,” said Joey Hoegg, Senior Associate Dean, Faculty. “I would also like to recognize those who were nominated but did not win this year. We had many excellent nominations, making the committee’s decision very difficult. Thanks to the nominators who wrote very compelling letters of support, and a huge thank you to the APAC Committee for its work soliciting and reviewing nominations: Daniel Skarlicki (Chair), Hasan Cavusoglu, Ken Kikkawa, Harish Krishnan, Caren Lombard, Ali Lazrak, Sima Sajjadiani, Marlisse Silver Sweeney, Ira Yeung.”