Sauder’s Centre for Operations Excellence (COE) is one of three finalists for the UPS George D. Smith Prize, a prestigious award for universities providing training in operations research, management science, or analytics. The research centre is being recognized for its work administering the Master of Management in Operations Research Program.

“This award is a testament to the world-class quality of the COE’s research, teaching and engagement with industry,” says Professor Harish Krishnan, director of the COE. “We are dedicated to advancing the field of operations research and proud that our efforts have been recognized by being chosen as a finalist for this prestigious prize.”

The UPS George D. Smith Prize is granted by the Institute for Operations Research and the Management Sciences (INFORMS), the world’s largest professional society in the field. Out of a pool of entrants that spanned the globe, the COE is joined in the finals by the Enterprise Systems Center at Lehigh University, and the Leaders for Global Operations program at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

The COE’s Master of Management in Operations Research is a specialized 16-month program that provides students with an advanced education in business analytics and operations research. Students apply skills learned in class with COE Industry Partners where they consult on significant operational issues.

A hub for research and engagement, the COE has published a range of leading studies in operations, management science and analytics, and completed over 120 applied industry projects with major corporations in nearly every business sector.

The UPS George D. Smith Prize will be announced at the 2014 Franz Edelman Gala at the INFORMS Analytics Conference, in Boston Massachusetts from March 30 to April 1. The winner will be chosen from the finalists at the event after each gives a 30-minute oral presentation. The winner will be awarded a $10,000 prize and go on to present at the INFORMS Annual Meeting in San Francisco, California.

The UPS George D. Smith Prize is named in honour of the late UPS Chief Executive Officer who was a champion of operations researchers at a leading Fortune 500 corporation. Awarded for the first time in 2012, past winners include the Naval Postgraduate School in Monterey, California and the Tauber Institute for Global Operations at the University of Michigan.